Theresa May no confidence vote: Who is BACKING Theresa May ahead of vote tonight?

Posted on Dec 13 2018 - 4:00pm by admin

Theresa May will face a vote of no confidence in her leadership between 6pm and 8pm on Wednesday. The leadership challenge comes as Sir Graham Brady on the 1922 Committee received 48 letters calling for Mrs May to be replaced this morning. Mrs May became Prime Minister in 2016, shortly after the UK voted to leave the EU, but has faced criticism among her fellow party members for the Brexit deal she has negotiated.

Who is backing Theresa May ahead of the vote tonight?

International trade secretary Liam Fox has publicly backed Theresa May’s EU Withdrawal Agreement and is likely to vote in favour of the Prime Minister to stay in office in the vote on Wednesday.

After the vote of no confidence was triggered Mr Fox tweeted: “I will support the Prime Minister @theresa_may tonight.

“This is a totally inappropriate time to have a contest. The country expects us to provide stability not damaging division.”

Damian Hinds are also among Tory MPs who is backing the Prime Minister.

Mr Hinds tweeted: Let’s all get behind @Theresa_May to complete the job on brexit and keep on delivering on jobs & growth and tackling injustices.

“A leadership challenge does nothing to secure brexit, and is the last thing our country, or the party, needs at this critical time.

Leave A Response