G20 summit 2018: Who is attending G20 summit? FULL LIST of world leaders at G20

Posted on Dec 1 2018 - 4:46pm by admin

G20 2018 will be held in Buenos Aires, Argentina between November 30 to December 1. Agenda items will include the future of work, infrastructure for development and a sustainable food future. Some of the countries set to attend will also bring up the regulation of crypto-currencies at this meeting. 

What world leaders will be at G20 2018?

Here is a list of possible participating leaders for this year’s summit:

Mauricio Macri, President of Argentina and host of G20 2018

Scott Morrison, Prime Minister of Australia

Michel Temer, President of Brazil

Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada

Xi Jinping, President of China

Donald Tusk, President of the European Council

Jean-Claude Juncker, President of the European Commission

Emmanuel Macron, President of France

Angela Merkel, Chancellor of Germany

Narendra Modi, Prime Minister of India

Jusuf Kalla, Vice President of Indonesia

Giuseppe Conte, Prime Minister of Italy

Shinzo Abe, Prime Minister of Japan

Enrique Pena Nieto, President of Mexico

Vladimir Putin, President of Russia

Mohammad bin Salman al Saud, Crown Prince of Saudi Arabia

Cyril Ramaphosa, President of South Africa

Moon Jae-in, President of South Korea,

Recep Tayyip Erdogan, President of Turkey

Theresa May, Prime Minister of the UK

Donald Trump, President of the USA

What is the G20?

The countries in the G20 club are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, Turkey, UK, USA, China and South Africa.

The European Union is also a member of G20 and is represented by the European Commission, the rotating council presidency and the European Central Bank (EBC).

Meetings take place once a year, although there were two meetings in 2009 and 2010 during the global economy crisis.

The summits were just between the finance ministers and central bank governors of members when they started 17 years ago.

The first summit was held in Berlin, in December 1999, by the German and Canadian finance ministers.

However, now the meetings are also between G20 leaders themselves, which began when the leaders met in Washington DC, in the US, after the collapse of Lehman Brothers in 2008.

The last summit was held in Hamburg, Germany, in July 2017 – the first time the country had hosted G20 heads of Government.

Overall, there have been 20 G20 meetings between finance ministers and central bank governors, as well as 12 summits between heads of state of G20 countries.

Leave A Response