32 teams for Seriake Dickson Unity Football Cup

Posted on Feb 24 2018 - 2:26am by admin

Simon Utebor, Yenagoa

Thirty-Two teams in Ogbia Local Government Area of Bayelsa State are expected to participate in the Governor Seriake Dickson Unity Football Cup.

The  tournament  tagged ‘The Ogbia Challenge’  sponsored by the leaders of Ogbia LGA led by the Commissioner for Information and Orientation, Daniel Iworiso-Markson, is to be competed for by teams representing communities from Ogbia Kingdom.

Speaking at a press conference in Yenagoa on Thursday, Iworiso-Markson said the tournament is aimed  at  uniting  youths  in the  kingdom.

Iworiso-Markson said, “The tournament will be used as a unifying force and to promote and discover new talents that will contribute to the football growth of Ogbia and Bayelsa State at large.

“We have also invited football scouts and legends to support the tournament. It is our intention to discover stars that can ply their football profession not only in Nigeria but in other countries.”

Most of the speakers at the unveiling of the tournament’s  mascot, including the Ogbia caretaker chairperson, Naomi Goli; Commissioner of Power, Chief Jim Ogbolo; and the Paramount Ruler of Ogbia Kingdom,  King Charles Owaba, commended the organiser of the tournament.

The Ogbia monarch, represented by Chief Jonny  Jonny, noted that the  tournament would place the kingdom in the forefront of sports in the state.

Consultants and coordinators of the competition,  Mr. Lawrence Alabrah and Chief Emma Ekpokoba,  said  32 teams would  compete in two phases and top qualifiers would meet at the quarterfinals.

Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

(Visited 47 times, 8 visits today)

Leave A Response