Labour announces plot to stop new PM suspending Parliament to ensure a no deal Brexit

Posted on Jun 11 2019 - 3:22pm by admin

Jeremy Corbyn’s party said it plans to use the opposition debate tomorrow to seize control of the House of Commons order paper to prevent a no deal Brexit from happening under what would be Mr Raab’s Government. The party also announced that it had backing from Oliver Letwin and other opposition parties to ensure a no deal would be stopped. They aim to introduce new legislation by June 25.

Mr Raab announced his plan to shut down Parliament in a bid to blank MPs who have been given a final say on Theresa May’s original deal.

He said this would be part of his pledge if he was the next Prime Minister after Mrs May.

Yesterday, he gave an impassioned speech outlining his plans.

He also took a swipe at fellow contender Boris Johnson, saying he favoured “style over substance” and was unable to understand details.

He said: “We won’t get a good deal with bluff and bluster.”

Mr Johnson remains the front-runner with bookies’ odds of 6/4 however.

Grassroots Tories have developed a mood of “simmering rage” at their party’s failure to implement Brexit and want out of the EU, with or without a deal, on October 31.

Politico reports: “The mood in the party is one of simmering rage at what they regard as the treachery of an unconsummated Brexit and British sovereignty denied — blocked by Westminster, the civil service and the Tory leadership.”

Many of the 10 contenders, who were announced yesterday by the influential 1922 Committee, claim they will pull Britain out of the EU without a deal if one has not been secured before the Halloween deadline – the third one set by Mrs May.


Initially, there were 11 up for the top job, but Remainer Sam Gyimah dropped out an hour before the list was announced yesterday late afternoon.

He said his reason was joining the party too late and to being able to gather enough support.

The new list consists of: Boris Johnson, Mark Harper, Michael Gove, Dominic Raab, Esther McVey, Mark Harper, Andrea Leadsom, Matt Hancock and Rory Stewart.

Leave A Response