Hammond's revenge! How Remainer Chancellor knifed Boris in back – just days before sack

Posted on Jul 18 2019 - 9:47pm by admin

MPs voted by 315 votes to 274 to back Mr Grieve’s plan – a majority of 41. A total of 15 MPs abstained. Mr Grieve’s amendment, which was co-sponsored by Labour MP Hilary Benn and Tory Alistair Burt, calls for fortnightly reports from the Government on efforts to restore the power-sharing executive. Other notable rebels include Business Secretary Greg Clark and Justice Secretary David Gauke.

READ MORE: Tory rebels sabotage Boris Johnson’s no deal plan to suspend parliament

A source close to Tory leadership contender Jeremy Hunt said the Foreign Secretary was given permission not to take part in the vote – although Mr Johnson himself voted against the move to block prorogation.

After the vote Independent MP Nick Boles, who quit the Conservative Party last year, tweeted: “Thank you @PhilipHammondUK @GregClarkMP @DavidGauke @RoryStewartUK for standing with us. This was an important moment and you stepped up.”

Mr Hammond, who is facing the chop as Chancellor in the event that front runner Mr Johnson is elected as Prime Minister has been a vocal opponent of a no-deal Brexit for months.

A Remainer, he is believed to have told Prime Minister Theresa May she needed to “suspend the whip in a bid to stop Boris Johnson from proroguing Parliament” in the event of him becoming the nation’s new leader, according to The Times last week.

Speaking prior to the vote, Mr Hammond said a no-deal Brexit would result in “a very significant hit to the UK economy, a very significant reduction in tax revenues and a big increase in our national debt”.

He added: “That most benign version is not the version that is being talked about by prominent Brexiters.

“They are talking about a much harder version, which would cause much more disruption to our economy.

“So I greatly fear the impact on our economy and our public finances of the kind of no-deal Brexit that is realistically being discussed now.”

He also became emboiled in a spat with Eurosceptic Jacob Rees-Mogg, chairman of the European Research Group, after Mr Rees-Mogg, writing in the Daily Telegraph dismissed his no-deal fears as “pure silliness” and said the economic model used to create his warning relied on assumptions that “range from the absurd to the merely dubious.”

Mr Hammond later tweeted: “Happy to debate scale of negative impact of No Deal on the economy – but terrifying that someone this close to a potential future government can think we’d actually be better off by adding barriers to access to our largest market.”

Speaking earlier this month, he hinted he could be ready to vote against the Government to block a no-deal Brexit, claiming Treasury forecasts suggested leaving the EU without a deal would cost £90bn over the next 15 years.”

The full list of those Tory MPs who rebelled to support Mr Benn’s amendment were:

Guto Bebb (Aberconwy), Steve Brine (Winchester), Alistair Burt (North East Bedfordshire), Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon), Justine Greening (Putney), Dominic Grieve (Beaconsfield), Sam Gyimah (East Surrey), Richard Harrington (Watford), Margot James (Stourbridge), Phillip Lee (Bracknell), Jeremy Lefroy (Stafford), Oliver Letwin (West Dorset), Paul Masterton (East Renfrewshire), Sarah Newton (Truro and Falmouth), Antoinette Sandbach (Eddisbury), Keith Simpson (Broadland), Edward Vaizey (Wantage).

Leave A Response