Gwagwalada re-run poll: APC beats APGA, PDP in narrow victory

Posted on Jan 13 2018 - 11:06pm by admin

Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Abdulkarim Mohammed, has been declared the winner of the just-concluded Gwagwalada Central Ward councillorship re-run election.

Gwagwalada is one of the six local government councils of the Federal Capital Territory​ (FCT)​ together with Abaji, Kuje, Bwari, and Kwali; and the Abuja Municipal Area Council​ (AMAC).​

Announcing the result, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC)
returning officer, George Galayam, said Abdulkarim Mohammed polled 1,686.

He narrowly defeated Ibrahim Anize of the All Progressives Grand Alliance, APGA, who had 1,588 votes.

Jibrin Yerima of the People Democratic Party (PDP) came distant third with 977 votes.

The earlier election of Ibrahim Anize was nullified as a result of the cancellation result from four polling units by the FCT Area Council Election Petitions Appeal Tribunal.

APC now has six councillors and APGA has four in the legislative arm of the area council.

Leave A Response