BREAKING: EU chiefs refer Poland, Hungary and Czech Republic to ECJ over migrant quotas
Posted on Dec 7 2017 - 3:50pm by admin

EU officials announced they have begun court action against Poland, Hungary and the Czech Republic over their opposition to the bloc’s mandatory relocation scheme. 

The decision is likely to provoke a furious response from the leaders of the three states, which have all argued that the programme presents a security threat to their citizens. 

In September Hungary and Slovakia lost an appeal to the ECJ against the legality of the scheme after arguing that it should have been taken by a unanimous decision of the member state. 

After that case eurocrats wrote to all four states not honouring quotas, with Slovakia subsequently dropping their opposition, ordering them to immediately start taking in migrants. 

In a statement the Commission said: “The replies received were again found not satisfactory and three countries have given no indication that they will contribute to the implementation of the relocation decision. 

“This is why, the Commission has decided to move to the next stage of the infringement procedure and refer the three Member States to the Court of Justice of the EU.” 

More to follow. 

Leave A Response