Amber Rudd salary: How much is Amber Rudd paid as minister and MP for Tories?

Posted on May 10 2019 - 11:29pm by admin

Amber Rudd is one of the most prominent politicians in the UK after being appointed Secretary of State for Work and Pensions in November 2018. Her new post came a few months after the 55-year-old was forced to stand down as Home Secretary following the Windrush scandal. She had been in the role for almost two years from July 13, 2016, to April 29, 2018. Ms Rudd is the previous Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change, in addition to being the MP for Hastings and Rye since 2010.

How much is Amber Rudd paid as minister and MP for Tories?

Ms Rudd receives a ministerial salary and a separate source of income for her duties as an MP.

The basic annual salary paid to all MPs as of April 2019 was £79,468, according to the UK Parliament website.

MPs were approved a controversial 2.7 percent pay rise in February by the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority (Ipsa).

However, ministerial salaries have been frozen for some time after former Prime Minister David Cameron blocked pay rises in 2015.

According to the latest figures by the Government, the Secretary of State was entitled to a salary of £70,137 in April 2018 but only claimed £67,505.

Therefore we can determine she currently earns a total salary of £146,973.

Will Amber Rudd run for Prime Minister?

Speculation is rife as to who will replace Theresa May when she stands down as Prime Minister and Conservative Party leader.

Mrs May promised to vacate Downing Street after delivering the first stage of Brexit negotiations.

But calls for her resignation have escalated in recent days.

Several ministers have been making high-profile appearances at the same time, lending weight to the idea they might launch a future leadership bid.

Amber Rudd is one of the names hotly tipped for the top job.

She will be appearing on the panel of BBC’s Question Time tonight at 10.35pm.

Other names who are being lined up to replace Mrs May include Jeremy Hunt, Sajid Javid, Dominic Raab, Boris Johnson, Michael Gove, Steve Baker and Andrea Leadsmen.

Current Tory rules state Mrs May cannot be challenged on her leadership until December 2019.

However, she can choose to step down before then.

Leave A Response