Adekuoroye joins Mumbai Maharathi for 2018 season

Posted on Dec 25 2017 - 8:28am by admin

Idris Adesina

World Wrestling Championships silver medallist, Odunayo Adekuoroye, has joined Mumbai Maharathi from NCR Punjab Royals ahead of the 2018 Indian Pro Wrestling League season, which begins on January 9, 2018.

The 2014 Commonwealth Games champion, who is competing in the women’s 57kg weight category, was signed for Rs 35 lakh from Punjab Royals.

Adekuoroye represented Mumbai Garuda in the 2016 edition, when she won the league title with them, and finished second with Punjab Royals in the 2017 season. She won the best wrestler in the league on the two occasions.

A tweet by the league organisers on Sunday announced Adekuoroye’s movement.

It read, “World Championship silver medallist Odunayo Folasade Adekuoroye (@Undispute Odun1), under 57kg category, grabbed by @Mumbai Maharathi for a whopping Rs 35 lakh.”

Adekuoroye, who is currently out of the country, confirmed the development to our correspondent, saying she was ready to assist the team to the league title.

She said, “Joining a new team ahead of the new season is a new challenge for me and I always like facing challenges. It shows that the clubs recognise my ability and want to have me in their team. I am determined to be the best wrestler in the league and also assist my team to win the title.”

The organisers also said Adekuoroye’s Indian rival in the category, Marwa Amri, was signed by Veer Marathas for Rs 25 lakh. This season will be the first time both wrestlers will meet in any competitive match.

Adekuroye faces another tough opponent, World Championship gold medallist, Helen Maroulis, of the USA, who was signed by Haryana Hammers for Rs 44 lakh in the same category.

Adekuoroye’s other teammates in Maharathi are Andrei Yatsenco (men’s 57kg), Soslan Ramonov (men’s 65kg), Virdev Gulia, (women’s 74kg) Satyavrat Kadian (men’s 92kg), Satyendra (men’s 125kg), Simi (women’s 59kg), Sakshi Malik (men’s 62kg), Vascon Cynthia (women’s 76kg).

The Indian Pro Wrestling League features six clubs – Haryana Hammers, Punjab Royals, Mumbai Maharathi, Jaipur Ninjas, Delhi Sultans and UP Dangal.

Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

Contact: [email protected]

(Visited 1 times, 1 visits today)

Leave A Response