2015: EFCC indicts 202 INEC workers for alleged fraud

Posted on Mar 3 2017 - 6:57pm by admin

The independent national Electoral commission has said that 202 of its contributors&#a hundred and sixty; of workforce who were indicted by way of the industrial and financial Crimes fee for allegedly receiving a part of the N23bn bribe money ahead of the 2015 elections would study their destiny subsequent week.

Professor Mahmood Yakubu - INEC Chairman
Professor Mahmood Yakubu – INEC Chairman

The INEC’s nationwide Commissioner answerable for the South-South, Mrs. may just Agbamuche-Mbu, said all the way through a press briefing in Abuja on Thursday that the final file of an administrative panel arrange by using the commission to study the indictment of the personnel by the EFCC can be considered through the fee at its assembly subsequent week.

consistent with her, the 202 INEC personnel whose names regarded on the EFCC’s file had been drawn from 14 states.

She said additionally that the 29 contributors of personnel of the commission were indicted and recommended for disciplinary motion with the aid of the executive Panel’s file on the December 20, 2016 rerun election in Rivers State led with the aid of Prof. Okechukwu Ibeano.

She said that the circumstances involving the indicted contributors of body of workers have been prior to the commission’s disciplinary committee.

Agbamuche-Mbu delivered that the commission had fulfilled its promise to overtake its office in Rivers State.

She stated the reorganisation affected the administrative secretary, all heads of division, deputy directors, and assistant administrators in addition to all of the 23 electoral officers accountable for the commission’s native government offices.

Agbamuche-Mbu said that the entire affected participants of staff can be redeployed out of Rivers State straight away.

Agbamuche-Mbu brought that five more RECs could be leaving the commission via March four, 2017 (Saturday) in addition to the 28 that had already left after completing their tenure.

She listed those leaving the commission in March to incorporate “Prof. Jacob Jatau (FCT), Mr. Segun Agbaje (Ondo), Mr. Austin Okojie (Bayelsa), Baba Abba Yusuf (Adamawa) and Mr. Nasir Ayilara (Niger).”

Investigation additional printed that three RECs are billed to leave the fee after serving out their tenure in July.

A top source within the commission listed these exiting the fee in July to include Aniedi Ikoiwak (Rivers), Baritor Kpagih&#one hundred sixty; (Delta) and Habu Zarma Hinna (Taraba).

With the departure of the three RECs in July, INEC could be left with a REC, Abdulahi Kaigama of Kaduna State, if no REC had been&#one hundred sixty; appointed for other 36 states.

Leave A Response